Close
Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty

College Planning Strategies Book - Website Resources 

Appendix A

General College Planning Information

• Invest N Others: https://www.investnothers.com/college-planning

• College Prep 101: http://www.collegeprep101.com/scholarships.html

• Department of Education: Undergraduate Enrollment in Degree-Granting 

          https://nces.ed.gov/programs/coe/indicator_cha.asp

          https://nces.ed.gov/fastfacts/display.asp?id=76


College Applications:

• A Complete Guide to the College Application Process: https://www.usnews.com/education/best-colleges/articles/college-application-process

• Common Application: https://www.commonapp.org/

• The Common App: Everything You Need to Know: https://www.usnews.com/education/best-colleges/articles/common-app

• The Common Black College Application: https://commonblackcollegeapp.com


College Planning Information

• Cappex College Search: https://www.cappex.com/College and Career Ready: https://www.collegeandcareerready.org

• College Data: https://www.collegedata.com/

• College Ranking: https://www.usnews.com/education

• Education Planner: http://www.educationplanner.org/

• I’m First Plan: http://www.imfirst.org/2012/12/plan/

• Kaplan Factors in College Admission: https://www.kaptest.com/college-prep/applying-to-college/key-factors-in-college-admissions

• Opportunities: Preparing for College: https://ecmc.org/opportunities

• Peterson’s Timeline: https://www.petersons.com/college-search/planning-list-students-parents.aspx


College Visits and Tours

• 10 Key Places to See on College Tours: https://www.usnews.com/education/best-colleges/articles/2018-06-04/10-key-places-to-see-on-college-tours

• eCampus Tours: http://www.ecampustours.com/

• Explore 7 Types of College Campus Visits: https://www.usnews.com/education/best-colleges/articles/2017-06-15/explore-7-types-of-college-campus-visits

• US News College Tours: https://www.usnews.com/education/best-colleges/right-school/tours


Essay

• 10 Tips to Inspire College Essays: https://www.usnews.com/education/best-colleges/slideshows/10-tips-to-inspire-college-essays

• Big Future, Best College Essay: https://bigfuture.collegeboard.org/get-in/essays/8-tips-for-crafting-your-best-college-essay

• College Express, College Essay: https://www.collegexpress.com/articles-and-advice/admission/articles/college-applications/writing-college-application-essay/

• Common Essay Topics: https://www.usnews.com/education/best-colleges/articles/2018-07-09/what-admissions-officers-think-of-3-common-college-essay-topics?int=undefined-rec

• How to Write a College Essay: https://www.usnews.com/education/best-colleges/articles/how-to-write-a-college-essay

• Princeton College Essay Advice: https://www.princetonreview.com/college-advice/college-essay

• USA News, How to Write a College Essay: https://www.usnews.com/education/best-colleges/articles/how-to-write-a-college-essay


Financial Aid

• An Ultimate Guide to Understanding Financial Aid: https://www.usnews.com/education/best-colleges/paying-for-college/articles/an-ultimate-guide-to-understanding-college-financial-aid?int=undefined-rec

• Department of Education - Free Application for Financial Student Aid (FAFSA): https://fafsa.ed.gov

• Sallie Mae: https://www.salliemae.com/research/how-america-pays-for-college/


Homeschooling

• 7 Ways to Think About College When Homeschooling: https://www.straighterline.com/online-education-resources/online-college-for-home-school-2/7-ways-to-think-about-college-when-homeschooling-a-collegebound-high-schooler/

• College Planning Handbook for Homeschooled Students and Families: Regent University: https://www.regent.edu/acad/undergrad/admissions/homeschool/All-In-One-Homeschool-College-Handbook.pdf

• National Home Education Research Institute, Research Facts on Homeschooling:

http://www.nheri.org/research/research-facts-on-homeschooling.html

• The Home School Mom: https://www.thehomeschoolmom.com/

• U.S. News and World Report Education: Home-Schooled Teens Ripe for College:

http://www.usnews.com/education/high-schools/articles/2012/06/01/home-schooled-teens-ripe-for-college


SAT and ACT Testing

• ACT: https://www.act.org

• ACT Online Prep: https://www.act.org/content/act/en/products-and-services/the-act/test-preparation/act-online-prep.html

• College Board (SAT): https://www.collegeboard.org

• Free Test Prep: http://www.freetestprep.com

• Huntington Test Prep: https://huntingtonhelps.com/test-prep

• Kaplan: https://www.kaptest.com

• Khan Academy: https://www.khanacademy.org

• Kent Prep: https://kentprep.com

• Princeton Review: https://www.princetonreview.com

• Review.com: http://www.reviews.com/act-sat-test-prep-courses/

• Power Score: https://www.powerscore.com/act/courses/

• PrepScholar: https://prepscholar.com/sat/s/

• Spark Notes: http://www.sparknotes.com/testprep/

• Study Point: https://www.studypoint.com

• Test-guide: https://www.test-guide.com


NCAA Eligibility for Student-Athletes

• National Collegiate Athletic Association: http://www.ncaa.org/about/student-athlete-eligibility

• NCAA Eligibility Center: http://www.ncaa.org/student-athletes/future/eligibility-center

• NCAA Recruiting Calendar: http://www.ncaa.org/student-athletes/resources/recruiting-calendars/2017-18-division-i-and-ii-recruiting-calendars


Scholarships

• Air Force ROTC: https://www.afrotc.com/scholarships

• Army ROTC: https://www.goarmy.com/rotc/scholarships.html

• Cappex: https://www.cappex.com/

• College Board: www.bigfuture.collegeboard.org

• College Scholarships: www.collegescholarships.com/

• Fastweb: www.fastweb.com

• Naval ROTC: http://www.nrotc.navy.mil/scholarships.html

• Scholly: www.myscholly.com

• Student Scholarships.org: https://studentscholarships.org/#sthash.BzlEVpBW.dpbs

• The Scholarship System: http://thescholarshipsystem.com/home

• Ultimate Guide: How to Find and Secure Scholarships for College: https://www.usnews.com/education/best-colleges/paying-for-college/articles/how-to-find-and-secure-scholarships-for-college

• Scholarship.com: www.Scholarships.com

• U.S. Department of Labor: www.careerinfonet.org/scholarshipsearch


Transcript Requests

• Naviance: https://www.naviance.com/

• Parchment: https://www.parchment.com/order/